Gt Yarmouth Town FC 2008-2009

Bloaters v Fakenham 30.09.08
Player Profiles
Awards 2007-08
Social Events
Who's Who
Members Page
Club Shop
News Archive
Matchday Food etc
2008/9 Friendlies
Fixtures 2008-2009
Players' Stats
Reserve Team
Youth Team
Under 9s
History of the Club
The Wellesley Tour
Contact The Club
Related Links
Help The Club

Tuesday 30th September 2008
Gareth Palmer scored the winning goal for the second consecutive game as Yarmouth moved to third place in the Ridgeons Division One table. After scoring just before half time on Saturday, he left it until the start of the second half in this match to notch another vital goal for the Bloaters.
Stewart Roach had given Yarmouth the lead in only the sixth minute, thrashing home a cross from Scott Woodcock from the edge of the penalty area. Carl Pask, who had scored a hat-trick at the Wellesley last season  while playing for Thetford, notched the equaliser after 24 minutes with a swerving shot from outside the box that gave Elliot Pride in goal no chance.
Pride had recovered sufficiently from his knock at Debenham to resume his place, and in this game pulled off some significant saves as the Ghosts belied their lowly position in the table. Adam Sullivan was also back after being substituted before half time at Debenham, and played a major part in this victory.
Palmer's goal came after a free kick was awarded for a 48th minute foul on Roach: Darren Lamb's ball into the box caused major confusion in the visitors' defence and as the ball bobbled around Palmer got the vital touch.
Joint manager Paul Tong said that before the game he and Kevin Cruickshank had warned the players that this team would be no pushover despite their poor results of late and were a bogey side for Yarmouth. But he praised his players for their commitment and graft: "Sometimes you have to grind out a result and that's the second time this week. But I just want us to keep on winning!"
Yarmouth - 1 Elliot Pride, 2 Johnathan Watt, 3 Ollie Savage, 4 Gareth Palmer, 5 Adey Ager, 6 Alan Darby, 7 Darren Lamb, 8 Adam Sullivan (c), 9 Stewart Roach, 10 Chris Squire, 11 Scott Woodcock. Subs: 12 Jake Reed (46 for Squire), 14 Toby Gorbould, 15 Liam Bartley, 16 Mark Thompson, 17 Jose Vide.
Fakenham - 1 David Stockdale, 2 Kevin Whittred (c), 3 Adam Woodhouse, 4 Nicholas Tagg, 5 Carl Neale, 6 Jason Cole, 7 Martin Fenwick, 8 Carl Pask, 9 Ben Darby, 10 Julian Delicata, 11 Matt Hooks. Subs: 12 James Bamford, 14 Nick Haynes (87 for Delicata), 15 Ben Woodhouse, 16 Justyn Goff, 17 Mark King.
Referee - Neil Jacques
Attendance - 63